Skip to main content

A&S Announces Outstanding Teaching Awards  

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Each year the College of Arts & Sciences presents faculty teaching, mentoring and service awards, including four Outstanding Teaching Awards in the divisions of Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural & Mathematical Sciences and one for lecturers. These awards recognize excellence and outstanding contribution both in undergraduate and graduate teaching.  

The recipients for 2023 are:  

Outstanding Teaching Awards 


  • Peter Kalliney, Department of English: Outstanding Teaching Award. 

  • Francie Chassen-Lopez, Department of History: Career Award. 

Natural and Mathematical Sciences: 

  • Bertram Guillou, Department of Mathematics: Outstanding Teaching Award. 

Behavioral and Social Sciences: 

  • Elena Sesma, Department of Anthropology: Outstanding Teaching Award. 

  • Monica Udvardy, Department of Anthropology: Career Award. 


  • Brad Elliott, Department of Mathematics: Outstanding Teaching Award. 

Excellence in Teaching Large Courses Award: Jennifer Osterhage, Department of Biology .

Innovative Teaching Award : Lynda Sharrett-Field, Department of Psychology. 

Promotion of Diversity or Inclusion Award: Frank X Walker, Department of English; Chloe Wawrzyniak, Department of Mathematics. 

Distinguished Service or Engagement Award: Christopher Pool, Department of Anthropology; Michelle Sizemore, Department of English. 

Outstanding Graduate Student Mentoring Award:   Ashley Seifert, Department of Biology. Dong-Sheng Yang Department of Chemistry: Career Award. 

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award: Christopher Manon, Department of Mathematics. 

Faculty Peer Mentoring Award:  Carrie Oser, Department of Sociology; Katherine Paullin, Department of Mathematics.